Relationships
Dear Community,

Our tech team has launched updates to The Nest today. As a result of these updates, members of the Nest Community will need to change their password in order to continue participating in the community. In addition, The Nest community member's avatars will be replaced with generic default avatars. If you wish to revert to your original avatar, you will need to re-upload it via The Nest.

If you have questions about this, please email [email protected]

Thank you.

Note: This only affects The Nest's community members and will not affect members on The Bump or The Knot.

Husband issues

So I have been married for four years and have had the same issues the entire time. My husband refuses to get a better job. When we met in 2006 I was a student in college and working full time as well. In 2008 I graduated and in 2009 we had our first son. We bought our first home the same year our son was born from his parents and it was a disaster. It needed new plumbing, new walls, new wiring, had no heat, and was awful. My husband refused to fix it so our son was safe, so I left in 2010. In January of 2011 I agreed to try again even though I had filed for divorce because my husband swore he would get a better job that could support our family and he sold that house back to his parents. In 2012 we had our second son and bought another home. This house is in the same shape and was also owned by his family. He still works 2-3 days per week, making minimum wage and won't listen to me that he needs to be working where he has a full time schedule and somewhere that offers benefits. He also refuses to fix this house and I'm worried about our boys. I don't want to leave again and cause my two sons mental distress but I can't get him to see that I shouldn't be working 55-60 hours a week while he works 20. Am I wrong to want him to find a better job? I don't know what to do. He tells me all the time that I just don't understand and he shouldn't have to work harde