Family Matters
Dear Community,

Our tech team has launched updates to The Nest today. As a result of these updates, members of the Nest Community will need to change their password in order to continue participating in the community. In addition, The Nest community member's avatars will be replaced with generic default avatars. If you wish to revert to your original avatar, you will need to re-upload it via The Nest.

If you have questions about this, please email [email protected]

Thank you.

Note: This only affects The Nest's community members and will not affect members on The Bump or The Knot.

Family Vacation

Hi everyone,

Each year, my parents and my in-laws try to plan a family vacation. Right now, I am in grad school and have a mortgage to pay, so our vacation budget is rather sad and does not allow us much money to play with. Being that I'm a teacher, I'm also pretty much restricted to the summer months, which tend to be a bit more expensive around here. 

My parents rent a beach house each year and invite us down. My DH gets 2 weeks of days to be used as sick or vacation each year. Typically we try only to use 1 wk of his days as there are occasions when he might be sick, need a personal day, etc. His parents sort of change up what they're doing each year. 

Here's the thing: my parents invite us, and basically won't take money from us. I offer it each year, and they turn me down. So usually we bring them a nice hostess basket, buy groceries for the house for the week, and take them to dinner to make a contribution. This, admittedly, leaves some money to play with for family vacation.