Relationships
Dear Community,

Our tech team has launched updates to The Nest today. As a result of these updates, members of the Nest Community will need to change their password in order to continue participating in the community. In addition, The Nest community member's avatars will be replaced with generic default avatars. If you wish to revert to your original avatar, you will need to re-upload it via The Nest.

If you have questions about this, please email [email protected]

Thank you.

Note: This only affects The Nest's community members and will not affect members on The Bump or The Knot.

Education Frustration?!?!

I'm in need of advise.

My bf and I have been dating for 2 1/2 years.  We met while he was getting his Master's degree and were local for the first year.  After graduating he moved 8 hours away to the PhD program he chose.  I've been working full time at the same job for the past four years, and am happy in the field I'm in and I plan to return to school for my Master's soon.

The issue:  LDR has been hard, but we've made it work and have a deep love and trust for one another that I wouldn't trade for the world.  However, a recent serious conversation about our future revealed that he doesn't plan on thinking about marriage until he graduates (2 yrs) and, even then, he wants to live together for at least a year before "moving forward".  He says he can't make a concrete decision because he's not sure where his post-doctoral research will take him.  This is news to me because he always makes reference to how things will be when we get married.  I never would have thought that we were on some vague timeline.  He keeps reassuring me that he loves me, but I'm 30 and can't help but wonder if it's wise to wait another 3 years or so or leave what feels familiar/secure behind to find someone new?

Is education ever a good excuse not to move forward with a relationship?

Re: Education Frustration?!?!