9 to 5
Dear Community,

Our tech team has launched updates to The Nest today. As a result of these updates, members of the Nest Community will need to change their password in order to continue participating in the community. In addition, The Nest community member's avatars will be replaced with generic default avatars. If you wish to revert to your original avatar, you will need to re-upload it via The Nest.

If you have questions about this, please email [email protected]

Thank you.

Note: This only affects The Nest's community members and will not affect members on The Bump or The Knot.

Becoming Licensed Psychologist / Counselor issue...

Hi All...

I completed my MA in Psychology 10 years ago.  At the time, I wanted to focus on social research (as I was woking in the field at the time), so I finished my degree with a thesis instead of a practicum and supervision hours.  As my career has progressed, I've had many opportunities to counsel, but not in a licensed capacity.  I'm interested in becoming licensed now, and here is where the problem lies.

I've been told by 3 schools I've contacted that my MA is too "old" to be considered for credit in their program.  I would essentially have to start a new MA degree or move onto a PhD/PsyD program.  I had been hoping that with a few extra classes I could jump right in to earning my supervision hours.  Is this naive?  I did not just focus on research and have plenty of counseling classes under my belt - I can't imagine that theory and practice have changed so drastically in 10 years that my education and experience would count for nothing...

Any advice?

Thanks everyone!

Dori image
"Just keep swimming, just keep swimming..."

Miracle DD born 12.2005
TTC #2 since Dec 2008 w/ PCOS
***P/SAIF Always Welcome***

Keep it Natural, Baby!

Re: Becoming Licensed Psychologist / Counselor issue...

• I know this is probably not helpful advice but ....