Health & Fitness
Dear Community,

Our tech team has launched updates to The Nest today. As a result of these updates, members of the Nest Community will need to change their password in order to continue participating in the community. In addition, The Nest community member's avatars will be replaced with generic default avatars. If you wish to revert to your original avatar, you will need to re-upload it via The Nest.

If you have questions about this, please email [email protected]

Thank you.

Note: This only affects The Nest's community members and will not affect members on The Bump or The Knot.

running vs cycling

hi! i normally post on some of the other boards, but this is my first time here.

i race bicycles, and i train a lot. during the season i ride about 100 miles a week. as a change during this off season, i began to run in order to keep my cardio up, but i am finding that i am losing too much weight.

on an average 20 mile bike ride, i will burn 1000-1200 calories. when running, i have been doing 3 miles in 25 minutes, working on speed intervals at 9.0-9.5, my heart rate clock says i am only burning about 300-330 calories. i was running 4-5 times a week.

what is the difference and why am i shedding weight while i run, but not when i cycle?

note: i don't need to lose weight, nor am i trying. 

thanks!!

thanks!

Re: running vs cycling

• They say you burn 100 calories a mile, whether you're running or walking.

I can't imagine that number of calories on a 20 mile ride.  I average something like 45 calories a mile when I ride.  I guess I'm not riding hard enough!

I've found that I lose weight as a runner because I work harder...I have a tendency to not work hard enough on my bike.

BTW, just for kicks, what do you ride?  I love my S-Works Ruby :)

• i ride a titanium merlin on the road and a dolan on the track.