Health & Fitness
Dear Community,

Our tech team has launched updates to The Nest today. As a result of these updates, members of the Nest Community will need to change their password in order to continue participating in the community. In addition, The Nest community member's avatars will be replaced with generic default avatars. If you wish to revert to your original avatar, you will need to re-upload it via The Nest.

If you have questions about this, please email [email protected]

Thank you.

Note: This only affects The Nest's community members and will not affect members on The Bump or The Knot.

yoga mat question

I have been using my new yoga mat about once a week for the last 2 months but I'm having an issue with it in that if I hold certain positions for amy length of time, ie. downward facing dog, my hands really do start to slide/slip.  Is there something I can do about this?  And for what it is worth I have a hugger mugger mat.

Re: yoga mat question

• my yoga instructor said to wash it with mild soap & hot water, and just lay it out to dry. i haven't tried it, since my yoga mat doesn't slip. it did the first few times, but it doesn't anymore.

good luck!

• Let me preface this discussion by saying that there are two different types of yoga mat construction - open cell and closed cell.  Open cell mats tend to absorb sweat and may stay more sticky during yoga.  Closed cell mats cause moisture to bead up on the surface and definitely become slick when wet.  If you're doing a crazy amount of sweating, however, it doesn't matter if your mat is open or closed cell - a mat can only absorb so much sweat!