Health & Fitness
Dear Community,

Our tech team has launched updates to The Nest today. As a result of these updates, members of the Nest Community will need to change their password in order to continue participating in the community. In addition, The Nest community member's avatars will be replaced with generic default avatars. If you wish to revert to your original avatar, you will need to re-upload it via The Nest.

If you have questions about this, please email [email protected]

Thank you.

Note: This only affects The Nest's community members and will not affect members on The Bump or The Knot.

Length is getting to me (mentally)

So, I started training for a marathon about 2 weeks ago. Tomorrow will be my first attempt at 8 miles.  I'm just wondering, if I follow the program will I be able to a. build up my mileage and b. finish the marathon.  Right now, even the 15 mile training run seems very daunting.  I mean, I'll be proud of myself if I finish 8 miles tomorrow, but then it will be in my head that on race day I will have to run 18.2 miles after I finish 8 miles.

I guess the mental part of this is really getting to me and I'm beginning to doubt myself.  I just want to know if I follow the training program will I be okay.  I know no one can answer that for me, but I guess I just need a little encouragement.  TIA.

Re: Length is getting to me (mentally)

• Take one run at a time.  Looking too far ahead will not help you mentally.  Just take it week by week and focus on that week's long run and when you complete it, pat yourself on the back!  Marathon training is TOUGH but it's important to stay focused and not get too far ahead of yourself. 

I am reading the book First Marathons which I think it very motivating and is an easy read with lots of different perspectives on training and racing.  Also check out Spirit of the Marathon, I watched it on Hulu.com for free and was totally inspired.

Keep it up and stay positive!