Relationships
Dear Community,

Our tech team has launched updates to The Nest today. As a result of these updates, members of the Nest Community will need to change their password in order to continue participating in the community. In addition, The Nest community member's avatars will be replaced with generic default avatars. If you wish to revert to your original avatar, you will need to re-upload it via The Nest.

If you have questions about this, please email [email protected]

Thank you.

Note: This only affects The Nest's community members and will not affect members on The Bump or The Knot.

How do you handle a mooch?

Ok, so one of my closest friends has recently become a moocher! I'm not sure if "moocher" is the word I'm looking for.

She is constantly asking for favors from me because I'm a teacher and am not working in the summer, so she naturally assumes I'd be happy to go pick her prescriptions while she's at work, stay at her house while someone fixes the washing machine, etc... Even this morning she called to ask if I'd drive her to work b/c it's raining and she doesn't like driving in the rain! (Since it was so early in the morning, I didn't answer because I KNEW it would be her calling for a favor and not just to chat.)

The past couple of weeks when she comes by, the first thing she does is go to the fridge to see what I have to eat or drink, and she will basically make herself a meal with whatever food I have. Half the time, I'm not sure if she's really coming over to chat or just because she's too cheap to go buy her own food!

The problem is, she is a very dear friend and I really don't know how to tell her to stop this behavior without hurting her feelings. I'm so frustrated that I'm afraid if I confront her, I will end up biting her head off! Any advice on a *kind* way to let her know she's being too moochy? THANKS. :) 

Re: How do you handle a mooch?