Family Matters
Dear Community,

Our tech team has launched updates to The Nest today. As a result of these updates, members of the Nest Community will need to change their password in order to continue participating in the community. In addition, The Nest community member's avatars will be replaced with generic default avatars. If you wish to revert to your original avatar, you will need to re-upload it via The Nest.

If you have questions about this, please email [email protected]

Thank you.

Note: This only affects The Nest's community members and will not affect members on The Bump or The Knot.

How do you deal with bullies?

2»

Re: How do you deal with bullies?

• Ugh.  I'm sorry your family is dealing with this -- it's very hard for kids and parents.

I teach middle school, and have witnessed this from the teacher's perspective many times.  I'm no expert on bullying, but here are my observations/ideas based on my professional experience:

1. He needs praise and reassurance that he did the right thing by coming to you about it.  Kids live under a kind of code of silence about this that makes it hard to ask for help.  Assure him that he should continue talking to you and that you will help him.

2. Let him know that lots of kids are teased or bullied -- even the "cool" kids.  Sometimes bullies mistreat their friends in secret, private ways that other kids can't see.  He's not alone.  Almost every kid is teased or bullied to some extent.

3. Kids who are bullied consistently and fall into the "victim" role a lot, tend (from my perspective) to somewhat buy into the bully's message.  If the bully is teasing a kid about being ugly, odds are the kid somehow believes he/she is ugly.  I wouldn't confront your child directly about this, but I would ask the counselor for help with it.