Family Matters
Dear Community,

Our tech team has launched updates to The Nest today. As a result of these updates, members of the Nest Community will need to change their password in order to continue participating in the community. In addition, The Nest community member's avatars will be replaced with generic default avatars. If you wish to revert to your original avatar, you will need to re-upload it via The Nest.

If you have questions about this, please email [email protected]

Thank you.

Note: This only affects The Nest's community members and will not affect members on The Bump or The Knot.

How much is too much?

I would like to take a poll - I am new to this so I hope that I am doing it correctly.

How much time on average as an adult do you and your family/signifigant other spend with your parents over a weeks time? Months time? How many phone calls?

My husband and I have different opinions on how much time to spend with family but all that I have to base my opinion on is my personal view and looking at the time that friends spend with their families.

Thanks!

Re: How much is too much?

• Our families live 1,000 miles away in PA. Each week, I talk to my parents (usually my mom, my dad emails) about 3-4 times for maybe 15 min. each time. He calls his parents on Friday evenings and talks to them for about 45-60 minutes. 

Together, we see our families maybe once or twice a year for Christmas and some other holiday. I usually go up 1-2 times myself since I'm a teacher and have more vacation time. 

When we lived 2 hours from them, we saw our families about once a month for a weekend. 

• Maybe, ahh, 4 hours a month?
  • I should also add that this works for us. I'm closer to my family than he is to his. When we first moved to FL, I talked to my mom every day for about 8 months. It was a hard time for me and she could help me through that in a different way than he could.