Philadelphia Nesties
Dear Community,

Our tech team has launched updates to The Nest today. As a result of these updates, members of the Nest Community will need to change their password in order to continue participating in the community. In addition, The Nest community member's avatars will be replaced with generic default avatars. If you wish to revert to your original avatar, you will need to re-upload it via The Nest.

If you have questions about this, please email [email protected]

Thank you.

Note: This only affects The Nest's community members and will not affect members on The Bump or The Knot.

Help me stock my fridge/freezer

I have a problem. I'm not good at having things in the house to throw together meals. I've gotten better about going grocery shopping more regularly and having meals planned that I'm shopping for. But if I don't get to the store for some reason, our fridge is pretty much barren. And then we eat Velveeta Shells & Cheese. Again.

What do you keep in your fridge/freezer/pantry all or most of the time? Obviously stuff that doesn't go bad quickly is preferable.

Re: Help me stock my fridge/freezer

• My big freezer items are soups and chili.  Right now I have butternut squash, chicken noodle, roasted veg, and split pea soups.  I also have 2 meals worth of turkey chili and corn bread.  Each weekend I'll make one soup and just double or triple the recipe.  We'll eat it 1 night that week, then I freeze the rest.

• We buy a lot of meats in bulk and use our food saver to seal them in bags so we can easily pull stuff out for dinner.

And different frozen veggie mixes help. I also always like to have rice, potatoes, etc as they are an easy starch.

Stuff for tacos are always an easy meal too. 

Recently, I have been looking for recipes and printing them out so we have them for when we want to do something different. I found this really good orange chicken recipe and we made it this weekend and loved it!