Relationships

Stay at Home Wife Issues...

So, I'm currently a stay-at-home wife. Not mom- we don't have any kids. Sometimes I feel like if we had kids, this would be better...

Anyways. My husband and I got married just four months ago. I'm a teacher, but with moving and getting married, I didn't secure a full-time teaching job for this year. I'm substitute teaching around the area about two days a week, usually. I would love to be in the classroom more often. Fortunately, I don't need a part-time job because his income covers our bills, so I can be available whenever I get called to sub. 

My husband, however, thinks that when I'm home, I should be working on housework all day long. He hates dropping by home and seeing me on the computer or watching TV, even if I'm folding laundry while I'm watching.  I do all the laundry, all the cleaning, dishes, and meal preparing, even on days when I am subbing. We have a tiny home, so it really doesn't take days upon days of time to keep it clean, even with one deep cleaning chore a day.

I feel guilty that I'm not bringing in more income, but I also think that my husband is kind of treating me like an employee. I have trouble enjoying my time at home because I'm worried that I'm not doing enough. I discussed this with him two days ago, and he said that he'd help out more at nights if he knew I was working hard all day. 

Well, I didn't watch TV at all during the day yesterday, and I got a ton of work done (cleaned out the seals on the refrigerator door, for one. Those things get nasty!) When he got home, he didn't even seem to notice anything that I'd done, and once again, I got stuck with cleaning up the dishes after supper.