Health & Fitness

Running through it vs. listening to your body?

I'm still a very novice runner but I've slowly been increasing my distance and speed over the past few weeks.  I find that I'm struggling to find that balance of when to run through it and when to listen to your body and stop.

Does this come with time/experience? Any tips?

For example, the other day I went for a run and felt really crummy after three miles.  Things just weren't clicking and I was ready to give up.  BUT, I kept running and did the five I set out to do.  It felt great when I was done and I was happy I kept going.

Today I went out for six but I started having pain in my groin around mile four.  I ran through it and now I feel AWFUL.

How do you decide when to keep going or when to throw in the towel?  I don't want to hinder myself by overdoing it and being injured.  But I also don't want to set myself up that I can "quit at any time" either. I feel like I can figure out this balance yet!

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Lilypie Second Birthday tickers
Married 10.11.08
Baby LJ 05.21.10
TheRookieChef.com

Re: Running through it vs. listening to your body?

• I try to run through mental blocks - sometimes running is more mental than physical. If i'm just having a rough run - not painful, just having a hard time getting into it, i try to run through it. Changing pace (slowing down/speeding up, intervals) can sometimes be helpful.

If I'm having physical pain, I try to evaluate what is going on (is it something that will go away if I stretch vs. an actual injury). I've had DH pick me up from a run because I was in so much pain. Pushing through soreness is one thing, but I try to be smart about pushing through actual pain.  

http://lifeisbeachykeenblog.wordpress.com
  • Are you increasing your distance slowly? Too much too soon is definitely going to be hard on your body and lead to injury. Your mileage should increase by 10% a week.And remember running isn't easy!