What's Cooking?

Garlic chopper, press, ?

I am a really new cook. I didn't really start getting in the kitchen until I was pregnant. My mom is amazing and I want my kids to eat great food made by me as well. One thing I haaaate is chopping up garlic. I thought I saw a little round garlic chopper at Target once but can't find it anymore. They looked at me like I was nuts at Sur La Table so maybe there is no such thing. Does a garlic press do the same job? And can you tell me if the OXO garlic press is good? Thanks.

Re: Garlic chopper, press, ?

• If you want a press, Kuhn Rikon is the way to go.  Instead,  I just grate garlic on a microplane grater.  :-)
  • No advice for a press, but I have the Cuisinart Mini Mate chopper/grinder and I love it. It's perfect for garlic, spices and herbs.
  • The round thing you're thinking of is probably a garlic slicer (not a garlic press) - I used to have one that was kind of circular - you put a couple cloves of garlic in, twist the top half, and garlic slices come out the bottom.

As for garlic presses, along with the Kuhn-Rikon that someone mentioned above, the Zyliss has also gotten good reviews in the past from Cooks Illustrated.

I use a Pampered Chef garlic press that I got as a gift from my Mom... it works pretty well. 

• image TPOX:
    If you want a press, Kuhn Rikon is the way to go.  Instead,  I just grate garlic on a microplane grater.  :-)

Thanks! Googling microplane garter, lol.

• image SecretServiceWife:
    No advice for a press, but I have the Cuisinart Mini Mate chopper/grinder and I love it. It's perfect for garlic, spices and herbs.

That is what Sur La Table showed me, I think. I was worried about the little pieces of garlic being a pain to get out? But I guess not since you love it.

• image ch ch ch chia: