What's Cooking?
Dear Community,

Our tech team has launched updates to The Nest today. As a result of these updates, members of the Nest Community will need to change their password in order to continue participating in the community. In addition, The Nest community member's avatars will be replaced with generic default avatars. If you wish to revert to your original avatar, you will need to re-upload it via The Nest.

If you have questions about this, please email help@theknot.com.

Thank you.

Note: This only affects The Nest's community members and will not affect members on The Bump or The Knot.

Garlic chopper, press, ?

I am a really new cook. I didn't really start getting in the kitchen until I was pregnant. My mom is amazing and I want my kids to eat great food made by me as well. One thing I haaaate is chopping up garlic. I thought I saw a little round garlic chopper at Target once but can't find it anymore. They looked at me like I was nuts at Sur La Table so maybe there is no such thing. Does a garlic press do the same job? And can you tell me if the OXO garlic press is good? Thanks.

Re: Garlic chopper, press, ?

• If you want a press, Kuhn Rikon is the way to go.  Instead,  I just grate garlic on a microplane grater.  :-)
  • No advice for a press, but I have the Cuisinart Mini Mate chopper/grinder and I love it. It's perfect for garlic, spices and herbs.
  • The round thing you're thinking of is probably a garlic slicer (not a garlic press) - I used to have one that was kind of circular - you put a couple cloves of garlic in, twist the top half, and garlic slices come out the bottom.

As for garlic presses, along with the Kuhn-Rikon that someone mentioned above, the Zyliss has also gotten good reviews in the past from Cooks Illustrated.

I use a Pampered Chef garlic press that I got as a gift from my Mom... it works pretty well. 

• image TPOX: