9 to 5

How to calculate overtime hours with holiday

I am new to working with payroll, and the holiday is throwing me off. We pay overtime at time and a half, and if you work on a holday, we pay holiday pay at time and a half as well. I am working on timesheets and am hoping someone can help me. If an employee works 48 hours on a holiday week, where she worked sun, mon, tues and wed of the holday week, how do I calculate overtime and holiday pay. Each day was a 12 hour shift. So I know she should get 12 hours of holiday pay, but would it be 36 regular hours and 12 holiday? Or 40 regular hours, 12 holiday hours, and 8 overtime hours, but it seems like this way pays them twice for the same day. I don't mean to sound stupid, but it is just throwing me, and I don't want to make a mistake!

Thanks!

Re: How to calculate overtime hours with holiday

• If my DH works 48 hrs on a holiday week (Monday being the holiday and he was off), he gets 48 hrs of regular pay - anything after 48 hrs is over-time rate.

In your situation though, the employee worked Monday (the actual holiday). Is a 12-hr shift considered a regular shift, or is it considered overtime after 8 hrs?

My three sons.

Lilypie Kids Birthday tickers

Lilypie Third Birthday tickers

Lilypie First Birthday tickers

• Assuming your company overtime is anything over 40 hours, this is how it would have worked back when I worked retail (the last time I worked someplace that would be open on holidays.

On holidays, you get your holiday pay whether you work or not. If you work, your hours are paid at time and a half. So working on a holiday is the equivalent of double time and a half. Then anything over 40 hours is overtime at time and a half as well.

So for your employee, she would have 40 hours regular pay, 8 hours holiday pay, and 16 hours at the overtime time and a half rate (the 8 hours she worked monday plus the 8 hours over 40).