Fashion & Beauty

Are Pantyhose Out of Style?

Mama needs her control tops!!
Lilypie Second Birthday tickers Lilypie Maternity tickers ***This space reserved for photo of new squish***

Re: Are Pantyhose Out of Style?

• Seriously?  Do not wear them.  Buy Spanx
    Visit The Nest!
  • In formal professions like banking and law, pantyhose may be expected.  In other circles, they can be considered passe. 

Spanx are the easiest way to skirt the issue.  Try the Assets line at Target - they're an affordable intro.

• Thanks for the tip. I'm a teacher. So, a pencil skirt, bare legs and pumps is alright?
    Lilypie Second Birthday tickers Lilypie Maternity tickers ***This space reserved for photo of new squish***
  • image StrawberryAlarmClock:
    Thanks for the tip. I'm a teacher. So, a pencil skirt, bare legs and pumps is alright?

You do not need hose as a teacher

Visit The Nest!
  • Bare legs with a pencil skirt and heels is fine. 
    Hope is not a strategy.
  • Thanks, ladies :)
  • I'm a lawyer they are semi-expected at our firm.  A lot of the younger women don't wear them and the word "inappropriate" gets thrown around behind their back.

I wear super sheer hose.

• Kate Middleton has recently been seen wearing pantyhose so a lot of girls are running out and buying them; however, it's been said that she's only wearing them out of necessity because there are certain palace events where it's inappropriate for her to have bare legs.

I would definitely not wear any if I were you.  Like the pp said ... certain professions still expect them. 

• you could also cut off your control top hose at the thigh. Thats what I do instead of spanx. They're much less bulky this way.
  • The only consistent trend I saw while I was over in Europe was pantyhose.  It was nude pantyhose too.  I have to imagine this trend is getting started because of Kate Middleton, but I haven't seen it here in the states yet. 

I wouldn't be surprised if this trend starts to pick up though.