Family Matters

Babysitting Niece/Nephew

Hi all!  Quick question, what is normal procedure for babysitting a nice or nephew?  Dh and I are super busy, when we have downtime we like to spend it just the two of us... going to dinner, watching a movie, or something like that.  However, most of the time we're super busy (both in school and dh works full time as well).  I used to be a preschool teacher before I started grad school, and there are a few families whom I will still babysit for on occasion to make extra money. 

Well, SIL has an 18 month old baby girl, and recently she's been pressuring dh and I to babysit her (I assume for free since MIL watches her everyday for free).  Before SIL went in to this whole "I want y'all to babysit" thing dh went over to MIL's (SIL lives there) and mentioned that I was babysitting (when they asked where I was).  That was 6 months ago, but now SIL uses that against me.  When she sees me she'll say, "how can you watch other peoples kids but not have enough time for your own niece?"  She'll pick up niece and say to dh, "look at that face, how can you deny that?"  Dh and I usually just ignore her, it's no use to say something most of the time we just pretend she has said nothing at all which, of course, infuriates her.  

Today she just posted on dh's and my facebook walls, "niece's name wants you to babysit her!  When should I drop her off?"  I deleted it from mine, dh hasn't seen his yet.  

Sorry for that long story!  My point is, are we being hardasses?  DH wants to babysit eventually, but not when we're so busy, and now he's really put off by it because she's pushing the issue.  Do most people babysit their niece and/or nephew a lot?  Are we being grinches?

TIA!

PitaPata Cat tickers PitaPata Cat tickers Daisypath Anniversary tickers

Re: Babysitting Niece/Nephew