Buying A Home

Buying a home in a flood plain?

Hi! This is my first time posting on this board, my husband and I started looking for houses about 2 weeks ago and I've been lurking here for a while. :)

Our realtor suggested we look at an adorable home that is on the low end of our budget and in great shape.

The clincher, it's in a 100-year flood plain. It has only had water in the basement once and that was 2 years ago during the "Flood of Floods" that destroyed a ton of homes and flooded homes that were not even in flood plains.

What would you do? I know we'd have to get flood insurance for the house, but would something like this be a deal breaker?

Thank you for your help!

Image and video hosting by TinyPic Due May 10, 2012

Re: Buying a home in a flood plain?

• My last home and current home are in 100yr flood plains. So no, not a deal breaker for me. But neither of my homes had ever flooded, so I'd be very careful about how things were repaired.

And get a quote on that flood insurance, because it can be pricey.

- Jena
  • My mom lives on a flood plain and she has for the past 12 years and it has never flooded. We have had 2 major hurricanes since she has lived there and the street flooded but not the house. 
  • No, not a deal breaker. Lots of properties are located in 100 year flood plains.

Flood insurance is a great idea. You can go to floodsmart.gov and find a local agent who will quote you on this. It's a national program, administered through the government, so it's not like homeowners insurance where you can select a carrier. But an agent can tell you the cost for insuring the property with flood insurance.

By the way, flood plains change every so often. FEMA engineers are currently re-evaluating part of Atlanta (where I live) that was underwater in September of 2009.

• I live in New Orleans so pretty much the whole city is a flood area. For us it was finding the right insurance. You just need to do your research and know the potential risk.