Cleaning & Organizing

oxy clean turned whites yello?

Slight newbie here - I think I have posted once before and responded a couple of times. . . need help with oxy clean!

I put oxy clean powder in with my whites since it is supposed to brighten them up - but it left yellow spots in various places all over our whites!?!?! And some of them were DH's brand new t-shirts! I have a top load HE washer  (by fisher & paykel) and on the oxy clean container it says to put the powder in the bottom (half as much for HE), put the clothes on top and put the laundry detergent in the detergent spot (which on mine is inside the agitagtor).  I did this twice - not knowing it was oxy clean that did it for sure, and only realizing later that a common factor was oxy clean in the two loads that I did. There was both new shirts and older shirts in both loads and the yellow spots are on both.

So is it safe to assume that oxy clean is doing this? And WHY? Oxy clean is supposed to BRIGHTEN whites not make them yellow! And how can I get the yellow out??

Maria & Chris ~ Waialae Beach Hawaii ~ 12/8/09

Re: oxy clean turned whites yello?

• i guess i forgot how to spell yelloW
  • Have you tried adding the oxy clean while the water is filling up, before you put the clothes in?

It seems to me that it might be some sort of a chemical reaction with something in your water, or the detergent you're using. 

As far as getting the yellow out I would try soaking the clothes in vingear.  Also try rubbing some baking soda into the vinegar soaked yellow spots. 

• I haven't had that problem with oxy clean, but I did have a problem with bleach.  I was trying to remove a spot from a white slipcover and bleach made it bright yellow.  I tried oxy clean and that made the stain lighter but didn't remove it.  I bought something called White Brite and that took out the yellowed stain.