Oklahoma Nesties
Dear Community,

Our tech team has launched updates to The Nest today. As a result of these updates, members of the Nest Community will need to change their password in order to continue participating in the community. In addition, The Nest community member's avatars will be replaced with generic default avatars. If you wish to revert to your original avatar, you will need to re-upload it via The Nest.

If you have questions about this, please email [email protected]

Thank you.

Note: This only affects The Nest's community members and will not affect members on The Bump or The Knot.

a question for the teachers

For the past year, I've really been looking into getting my teaching certification so I can teach high school English. I wanted to do this in college, but didn't want to change my major halfway through. I graduated with a degree in journalism and have worked in the public relations field since.

I'm going to call the OK Dept of Education to talk about the alternative program for certification, and speak with advisors at UCO and OU, but I wanted to know if any of you had any experience/advice for me. I don't personally know anyone in Oklahoma who has graduated with an unrelated bachelor's degree and then gotten their certification later. I would prefer not to have to go back to school full-time for financial reasons, and would love it if I qualified for the alternative program. To my understanding, I would have to take a few classes for the alternative certification while I was teaching.

Thanks in advance for any thoughts!

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: a question for the teachers

• I considered this a year or so ago. I actually sent in the app, got approved, and was about to take the tests when I changed my mind and decided to go to grad school instead.

You may have seen this already, but there is some good information here:

http://sde.state.ok.us/pro/tcert/pdfs/AltPlacePacket.pdf 

• llizzybllizzyb member
    Sixth Anniversary