Family Matters
Dear Community,

Our tech team has launched updates to The Nest today. As a result of these updates, members of the Nest Community will need to change their password in order to continue participating in the community. In addition, The Nest community member's avatars will be replaced with generic default avatars. If you wish to revert to your original avatar, you will need to re-upload it via The Nest.

If you have questions about this, please email help@theknot.com.

Thank you.

Note: This only affects The Nest's community members and will not affect members on The Bump or The Knot.

Problems with Brother-In-Law

Hello. I am new to writing in forums about my personal life but I feel like I need advice from an outside source.

I have been having problems with my brother-in-law for the past few months. We have known each other for about 13 years now and have gotten along fine until recently. A while back he started investigating mine and my sisters past. He came to me for information saying that it was to help her deal with issues that she is having as an adult. At first I freely gave him advice, but it was not too long before his questions became demands. He started saying he had "proof" this or that happened and that I should remember things this or that way. When asked for my opinion he'd argue with me incessantly if our opinions differed at all. When he asked for advice and I didn't have an answer (I would say "I don't know") he would nag me until I made some sort of suggestion, then tear the suggestion down. Eventually I simply stopped talking to him. This still didn't stop him, he'd message me on instant messenger saying he "had permission from" my sister to ask questions. I did my best to stay civil by telling him I just didn't know.