Entertaining Ideas
Dear Community,

Our tech team has launched updates to The Nest today. As a result of these updates, members of the Nest Community will need to change their password in order to continue participating in the community. In addition, The Nest community member's avatars will be replaced with generic default avatars. If you wish to revert to your original avatar, you will need to re-upload it via The Nest.

If you have questions about this, please email [email protected]

Thank you.

Note: This only affects The Nest's community members and will not affect members on The Bump or The Knot.

how to have a fun New Year's in?

DH & I (and possibly another couple) won't do much this New Years.  What can we do to make it fun and special?  what can I make for dinner (I'm a newbie cook), and what can we do besides watch the specials on tv?  we're not sipping martinis type, more the casual type.  or a special dinner at a restaurant (chicago or western burbs)?  a show downtown (chicago)?  please send me some suggestions, thanks :)

Re: how to have a fun New Year's in?

• Now that DH and I have a kid, we don't go out anymore. Instead we decided to try to make it special by staying in. Our favorite thing about new years eve was the drinks and the food, so now we don't have dinner that night instead we make up a whole bunch of ?appetizers and mixed drinks then watch a movie that we've wanted to see. It sounds boring to most but we love it.?

?

• My husband and I have had friends over for the past few New Years and we and our guests have had a blast.  Last year we played board games and just had apitizer type snacks.   Another thing I've done is do a movie marathon. One year we did a Silence of the Lamb Marathon and watched all 3 movies in order. 

If you want do to a dinner, I'd do something simple and low stress.  You don't want to spend hours in the kitchen and be tired for the party.  Kraft.com has a lot of easy recipies.